1939 Amateur World Series

From BR Bullpen

The 1939 Amateur World Series was the second Amateur World Series. It was held in La Tropical Stadium in Havana, Cuba from August 12 through August 26, 1939.

Flag of Cuba Cuba won Gold, going 6-0 (one win went 11 innings against Nicaragua) to start a long history of success in the event. Esteban Maciques (.250) led all players in runs (7), G. Toyo (.333) tied for the most hits (9) and Ernesto Estevez (.389) tied for the most doubles (2). Wenceslao Gonzalez (3 for 6) and Bernardo Cuervo (.200) tied for the lead with two triples apiece; Cuervo led with 6 RBI. Pedro "Natilla" Jiménez (2-0, 0.95) led in wins. Future major leaguer Connie Marrero was also on the team. Cocoliso Torres was named tourney MVP; he only hit .174 but got the winning hit in the extra-inning match with Nicaragua.

Flag of Nicaragua Nicaragua took home Silver with a 3-3 record. Sam Garth won the batting title (.500) and tied for the most hits. Stanley Cayasso tied for the lead in both doubles (2) and homers (1), while Jonathan Robinson also went deep once. Culvert Newell stole the most bases (4).

Flag of United States United States was last at 0-6.

Sources include A History of Cuban Baseball by Peter Bjarkman

Also see 1939 Amateur World Series (Rosters)