1979 Intercontinental Cup

From BR Bullpen

The 1979 Intercontinental Cup had the smallest field ever, six teams. It was the fourth Intercontinental Cup and the first to feature the Cuban national team. The Cup was held from October 16 through October 25 in Havana, Matanzas and Santa Clara. It was the first time in 37 years that Team USA came to Cuba.

Cuba easily won the event, going 10-0 under Servio Borges, though only one win was by more than nine runs. Cuba posted five All-Stars - C Pedro Medina (.462, the best average), 2B Alfonso Urquiola (.333), SS Rodolfo Puente (.367), 3B Pedro José Rodríguez, Sr. (.450, 7 HR, 17 RBI, 18 H, 15 R; the tourney leader in the latter four categories) and OF Luis Casanova (.375). Jose Aleman (2-0, 0.00), Juan Carlos Oliva (2-0, 0.75), Braudilio Vinent (2-0, 2.18), Rogelio Garcia (1-0, 0.90) and Rafael Castillo (1-0, 0.82) were their top pitchers. Sluggers Antonio Muñoz (.184) and Agustín Marquetti (.152) were major disappointments for the home nation.

Flag of Japan Japan won Silver with a 8-2 record, allowing more than four runs only once. Isamu Kida was one of the All-Star pitchers while Mitsugu Kobayashi stole seven bases to lead the tournament. Kida pitched 22 2/3 innings, the most. Yukio Takemoto was 2-0.

Flag of United States United States was unable to beat Cuba or Japan but won their other six games. All-Star 1B Pat Dodson led the tournament with six doubles while Joe Carter and Terry Francona made the All-Star team in the outfield to give the US the second-most All-Stars after Cuba. Jeff Heathcock was 2-0.

Flag of Nicaragua Nicaragua was 3-7 to tie for 4th place. Andres Torres was an All-Star pick at pitcher thanks to a 2-0 record.

Flag of Puerto Rico Puerto Rico also went 3-7. They had no All-Stars or tournament leaders.

Flag of Panama Panama finished winless and in dead last place.

Also see 1979 Intercontinental Cup (Rosters)

Sources: A History of Cuban Baseball by Peter Bjarkman, IBAF site

Intercontinental Cup

1973 | 1975 | 1977 | 1979 | 1981 | 1983 | 1985 | 1987 | 1989
1991 | 1993 | 1995 | 1997 | 1999 | 2002 | 2006 | 2010