2000 Holland Series

From BR Bullpen

The 2000 Holland Series marked the second of seven consecutive Holland Series titles for DOOR Neptunus. Neptunus was managed by Robert Eenhoorn, who was the 2000 Hoofdklasse MVP.

In game one, on August 25, ADO won the opener, as former NPB hurler Tetsuhiro Monna outpitched longtime Hoofdklasse superstar Rob Cordemans in a 3-1 decision. Neptunus won game two on August 26, 6-3, scoring four runs in the 9th. John Hrusovsky got the win and Jeffrey Calderone took the loss.

Game 3, the finale, was on August 27. Neptunus won an exciting 8-7 battle in 11 innings. 11 of the 15 runs came with two outs. Erik Remmerswaal got the win over Jimmy Summers. In the 11th, Percy Isenia singled in Dirk van 't Klooster with the winner; van 't Klooster also hit a 2-run homer in the game and won the Series MVP.

After the Series, Neptunus player Marcel Kruyt, a two-time Olympian, retired.