88th National High School Championship

From BR Bullpen

The 88th National High School Championship held from August 6-21 2006, was won by Waseda Jitsugyo High School of West Tokyo over 2-time defending champions Komadai Tomakomai of South Hokkaido.

Field Summary

Prefecture Team Appearance Prefecture Team Appearance
North Hokkaido Shirakaba Gakuen 1st Fukui Fukui Shougyou 17th
South Hokkaido Komadai Tomakomai 6th Shiga Hachiman Shougyou 6th
Aomori Aomori Yamada 7th Kyoto Fukuchiyama Seibi 2nd
Iwate Senshu Kitami 5th Osaka Osaka Touin 4th
Akita Honjyou Koukou 3rd Hyogo Touyou Himeji 4th
Yamagata Nihon Yamagata 14th Nara Tenri Koukou 23rd
Miyagi Sendai Ikuei 14th Wakayama Chiben Wakayama 14th
Fukushima Kounan Koukou 1st Okayama Kanzei Koukou 7th
Ibaraki Jyoushou Gakuin 10th Hiroshima Jyosuikan 7th
Tochigi Bunsei University of Art Koukou 9th Tottori Kurayoshi Kita 6th
Gunma Kiryi Daiichi 8th Shimane Kaisei Koukou 4th
Saitama Urawa Gakuin 8th Yamaguchi Nanyou Koukou 2nd
Chiba Chiba Keizai Koukou 2nd Kagawa Kagawa Nishi 2nd
West Tokyo Waseda Jitsugyo 27th Tokushima Tokushima Shougyou 21st
East Tokyo Teikyou Koukou 9th Ehime Imabari Nishi 9th
Kanagawa Yokohama Koukou 12th Kochi Kochi Shougyou 22nd
Niigata Nihon Bunri 12th Fukuoka Fukuoka Koudai Jyoutou 2nd
Nagano Matsushiro Koukou 1st Saga Saga Shougyou 14th
Yamanashi Koufu Kougyou 8th Nagasaki Seihou Koukou 2nd
Shizuoka Shizuoka Shougyou 9th Kumamoto Kumamoto Kougyou 18th
Aichi Aikoudai Meiden 8th Oita Tsurusaki Kougyou 3rd
Gifu Gifu Shougyou 26th Miyazaki Nobeoka Gakuen 5th
Mie Mie Koukou 9th Kagoshima Kagoshima (Rokko) 1st
Toyama Fukuoka Koukou 1st Okinawa Yaeyama Shoukou 1st
Ishikawa Kanazawa Koukou 11th

Tournament Summary

Date Round Game # Away Score Home Notes
August 6 1st 1 Shirakaba Gakuen (North Hokkaido) 7 - 10 Kochi Shougyou (Kochi)
1st 2 Waseda Jitsugyo (West Tokyo) 13 - 1 Tsurusaki Kougyou (Oita)
1st 3 Yokohama Koukou (Kanagawa) 6 - 11 Osaka Touin (Osaka)
August 7 1st 4 Seihou Koukou (Nagasaki) 22 - 3 Kounan Koukou (Fukushima)
1st 5 Fukuoka Koukou (Toyama) 1 - 8 Fukui Shougyou (Fukui)
1st 6 Sendai Ikuei (Miyagi) 5 - 1 Tokushima Shougyou (Tokushima)
1st 7 Nihon Yamagata (Yamagata) 6 - 2 Kaisei Koukou (Shimane)
August 8 1st 8 Kanzei Koukou (Okayama) 10 - 11x Bunsei University of Art Koukou (Tochigi) Kanzei ace Das Romash cannot hold another lead in the Summer Koshien, this time giving up 8 runs in the final two innings to give Bunri the win.
1st 9 Jyoushou Gakuin (Ibaraki) 8 - 11 Imabari Nishi (Ehime)
1st 10 Kurayoshi Kita (Tottori) 6 - 7x (11) Matsushiro Koukou (Nagano)
1st 11 Yaeyama Shoukou (Okinawa) 9 - 6 (10) Chiba Keizai Koukou (Chiba)
August 9 1st 12 Chiben Wakayama (Wakayama) 4 - 1 Gifu Shougyou (Gifu)
1st 13 Kanazawa Koukou (Kanazawa) 9 - 3 Urawa Gakuin (Saitama)
1st 14 Shizuoka Shougyou (Shizuoka) 8 - 2 Hachiman Shougyou (Shiga)
1st 15 Fukuchiyama Seibi (Kyoto) 6 - 4 Aikodai Meiden (Aichi)
August 10 1st 16 Mie Koukou (Mie) 4 - 6 Kumamoto Kougyou (Kumamoto)
1st 17 Tenri Koukou (Nara) 7 - 5 Honjyou Koukou (Akita)
2nd 18 Nanyou Koukou (Yamaguchi) 3 - 5 Komadai Tomakomai (South Hokkaido)
August 11 2nd 19 Aomori Yamada (Aomori) 7 - 0 Nobeoka Gakuen (Miyazaki)
2nd 20 Saga Shougyou (Saga) 5 - 6 Kiryi Daiichi (Gunma)
2nd 21 Koufu Kougyou (Yamanashi) 2 - 4 Touyou Himeji (Hyogo)
2nd 22 Senshu Kitami (Iwate) 0 - 4 Fukuoka Koudai Jyoutou (Fukuoka)
August 12 2nd 23 Teikyou Koukou (East Tokyo) 10 - 2 Jyosuikan (Hiroshima)
2nd 24 Kagawa Nishi (Kagawa) 2 - 1 Nihon Bunri (Niigata)
2nd 25 Kagoshima (Rokko) (Kagoshima) 3 - 2 Kochi Shougyou (Kochi)
2nd 26 Waseda Jitsugyo (West Tokyo) 11 - 2 Osaka Touin (Ousaka)
August 13 2nd 27 Seihou Koukou (Nagasaki) 6 - 7 Fukui Shougyou (Fukui)
2nd 28 Nihon Yamagata (Yamagata) 6 - 3 Sendai Ikuei (Miyagi)
2nd 29 Imabari Nishi (Ehime) 12 - 3 Bunsei University of Art Koukou (Tochigi)
2nd 30 Matsushiro Koukou (Nagano) 3 - 5 Yaeyama Shouko (Okinawa) A rain delay in the 2nd proved fortuitous for Yaeyama as they jump on the cold Matsuhiro squad for 5 runs after the break and never looked back.
August 14 2nd 31 Chiben Wakayama (Wakayama) 5 - 2 Kanazawa Koukou (Kanazawa)
2nd 32 Shizuoka Shougyou (Shizuoka) 0 - 4 Fukuchiyama Seibi (Kyoto)
2nd 33 Kumamoto Kougyou (Kumamoto) 5 - 3 Tenri Koukou (Nara) A failed squeeze bunt in the 8th with runners on 2nd and 3rd leads to the downfall of Tenri as Kumamoto takes advantage of the momentum to score 2 in the 9th.
August 15 3rd 34 Aomori Yamada (Aomori) 9 - 10x Komadai Tomakomai (South Hokkaido) The 2-time defending champions looked dead to rights against Aomori Yamada down 7-1 in the bottom of the 4th. But they score 8 runs in the last 4 innings to show everyone what got them here.
3rd 35 Kiryi Daiichi (Gunma) 2 - 5 Touyou Himeji (Hyogo)
3rd 36 Teikyou Koukou (East Tokyo) 5 - 4 Fukuoka Koudai Jyoutou (Fukuoka)
3rd 37 Kagoshima (Rokko) (Kagoshima) 9 - 3 Kagawa Nishi (Kagawa)
August 16 3rd 38 Fukui Shougyou (Fukui) 1 - 7 Waseda Jitsugyo (West Tokyo)
3rd 39 Imabari Nishi (Ehime) 9 - 10x (13) Nihon Yamagata (Yamagata) Imabari Nishi breaks through with two in the top of the 13th, only to see their ace pitcher give up 3 to end it.
3rd 40 Chiben Wakayama (Wakayama) 8 - 3 Yaeyama Shoko (Okinawa)
3rd 41 Fukuchiyama Seibi (Kyoto) 6 - 3 Kumamoto Kougyou (Kumamoto)
August 17 Best 8 42 Touyou Himeji (Hyogo) 4 - 5 Komadai Tomakomai (South Hokkaido)
Best 8 43 Teikyou Koukou (East Tokyo) 12 - 13x Chiben Wakayama (Wakayama) Teikyo explodes for 8 runs capped off with a pinch-hit 3-run home run in the top of the 9th inning. But said pinch hitter was for their final pitcher. And with no other real pitchers remaining, they could only watch helplessly as the winning run walked in.
August 18 Best 8 44 Nihon Yamagata (Yamagata) 2 - 5 Waseda Jitsugyo (West Tokyo) A real pitchers battle between Saitou Yuuki (Waseda Jitsugyo) and SS Aoki Yuu (Nihon Yamagata). But Aoki just could not keep up with Saitou, giving up 4 in the 8th. Afterwards, it was obvious from his crying that he felt he was to blame for giving up the game.
Best 8 45 Kagoshima (Rokko) (Kagoshima) 3 - 2 (10) Fukuchiyama Seibi (Kyoto) Imayoshi Kouichi (Kagoshima (Rokko)) and his patented yell at the plate once again comes in as a pinch hitter in the 7th to rally the troops down 2-1. He successfully gets on base and Rokko scores the tying run on their way to winning in 10.
August 19 Semis 46 Chiben Wakayama (Wakayama) 4 - 7 Komadai Tomakomai (South Hokkaido) Komadai would have no more of the rallying from behind, jumping out with 4 runs in the first highlighted by a triple by cleanup hitter CF Honma Atsushi.
Semis 47 Kagoshima (Rokko) (Kagoshima) 0 - 5 Waseda Jitsugyo (West Tokyo) Saitou Yuuki was in complete control of the game striking out 13 en route to his complete game 3-hit shutout. Even Imayoshi Kouichi and his yell would not be enough as he strikes out on a high fastball, much to the chagrin of Saitou.
August 20 Final 48 Komadai Tomakomai (South Hokkaido) 1 - 1 (15) Waseda Jitsugyo (West Tokyo) The pitchers duel that everyone wanted had arrived, and both delivered on a grand scale. Komadai's only run came in the 8th with a home run by SS Miki Yuuya. Waseda would counter in the bottom of the inning with a double by 1B Higaki Akira. A wild pitch and a sacrifice fly by Saitou Yuuki would plate the run.
August 21 Final 49 Komadai Tomakomai (South Hokkaido) 3 - 4 Waseda Jitsugyo (West Tokyo) Komadai would gamble by starting reliever Kikuchi Shouta against Saitou Yuuki. 5 batters, 2 outs and 1 run later, the gamble failed and Komadai would be looking up for the rest of the game. Down 4-1 in the 9th, 1B Nakazawa Takuya would hit a 2-run homerun to close the gap to 1. But Saito Yuuki would close the door, fittingly against his rival on the mound Tanaka Masahiro. After a long battle at the plate, Tanaka would strike out on Saito's slider to end the amazing battle.