Nishitetsu Lions

From BR Bullpen

Japan Series Titles: 3 (1956, 1957, 1958)

Pacific League Pennants: 5 (1954, 1956, 1957, 1958, 1963)

Franchise Players: Futoshi Nakanishi, Kazuhisa Inao, Hiroshi Oshita

In 1951 the Nishi-Nihon Pirates and Nishitetsu Clippers merged to form the Nishitetsu Lions. They were one of the top Pacific League teams of the decade, winning four pennants and taking three straight Japan Series from the Yomiuri Giants. Osamu Mihara managed the team throughout their 1950s success period. The team was not as successful in the following decade and in 1973 was sold and became the Taiheiyo Club Lions. The Nishitetsu Lions called Heiwadai Stadium home for their entire existence.


Preceded by
Nishitetsu Clippers
Seibu Lions
1951 - 1972
Succeeded by
Taiheiyo Club Lions