Prince George's Stadium

From BR Bullpen

Prince George's Stadium in Bowie, MD, is the home of the Bowie Baysox, the Baltimore Orioles' Eastern League farm team. It was also the Orioles' 2020 Coronavirus pandemic alternate training site.

PGS was supposed to open with the 1994 season. Oriole Park at Camden Yards had opened in 1992, and thus vacated Memorial Stadium filled the gap between the Baysox' last season as the Hagerstown Suns and Prince George's scheduled opening. However, when off-season weather issues delayed construction, the Baysox juggled their first 31 home games of 1994 among the playpens of the Frederick Keys, the Wilmington Blue Rocks, the U.S. Naval Academy Midshipmen, and the University of Maryland Terrapins. They finally played their first game in Prince George's on June 14, 1994.

PGS premiered minor league baseball's invented-runner rule on Opening Day 2018. Pushed by [[MLB], the rule was modified from a 2008 International Baseball Federation invention that placed runners at first and second as the 11th or any later inning began. The MLB version starts it the 10th inning - even the 8th in seven-inning double-headers - and reduces the chance of a double play by putting only one runner on, at second. MLB first used it in the pandemic-shortened 2020 season and did not shelve it until 2022.

MLB's 2021 Minor League Reorganization greatly expanded existing standards for stadiums hosting affiliated teams. The state has folded resulting upgrades for at least PGS, and possibly Maryland's other minor-league parks, into a $1.2-billion measure that will also improve the homes of the Baltimore Orioles and the NFL's Baltimore Ravens.

Prince George's is named not for a colonial monarch but for the county that was named for him - a Danish prince who was the husband and royal consort of 18th-century British Queen Anne - and in which the ballpark lies. It is not county-owned, however; the Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission owns the ballpark and operates it jointly with the Baysox.

Several times, more than 14,000 fans have crammed into its stated 10,000-capacity. Its house baseball record is 14,109 on August 22, 1998.

Current ballparks in the Eastern League
Northeast Division Southwest Division
Dunkin' Donuts Park | FirstEnergy Stadium | Hadlock Field | Mirabito Stadium | Northeast Delta Dental Stadium | TD Bank Ballpark Canal Park | The Diamond | FNB Field | Peoples Natural Gas Field | Prince George's Stadium | UPMC Park